Founded in 2013, the Arthur C. Stern Award will be given annually to an author(s) for their outstanding contribution to the Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association (JA&WMA) in the fields of air and waste management. The award will be based on the publication of a paper in JA&WMA that has greatly advanced science and technology; is technical, scientific, or management in nature, while advancing the mission of JA&WMA; and is considered to be a substantial contribution toward improving our understanding of air pollution and waste management problems, their impact on environment and health, and the use of sustainable practices in reducing our environmental footprint. There is no publication date limitation for this award, any previously published JA&WMA paper is eligible, and it is open to both members and nonmembers of the Association. Critical review papers and discussion papers published in JA&WMA are not eligible for this award.

Arthur C. Stern (1909–1992) was a long time member and past president of the Air Pollution Control Association, a forerunner of A&WMA. He made major contributions to JA&WMA and his books on air pollution control are well-recognized nationally and internationally.

Nomination Procedure

The nominator should summarize the significant methods and findings of the paper, demonstrating the impact and importance of the paper in the air pollution or waste management fields, and submit the nomination package to the attention of Dr. S.T. Rao, JA&WMA Editor-in-Chief, at, by no later than September 15, 2016. The winner will be announced in December 2016.

Arthur C. Stern Award Committee:

S.T. Rao, JA&WMA Editor-in-Chief

David Chock, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute
Bruce B. Hicks, Metcorps
Tim Keener, University of Cincinnati
Armistead (Ted) Russell, Georgia Institute of Technology

Past Recipients

2016 Judith C. Chow, John G. Watson, L.-W. Antony Chen, M.C. Oliver Chang, Norman F. Robinson, Dana Trimble, and Steven Kohl: “The IMPROVE_A Temperature Protocol for Thermal/Optical Carbon Analysis: Maintaining Consistency with a Long-Term Database: (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2007; DOI 0.3155/1047-3289.57.9.1014.

2015 Eugene Kim, Philip K. Hopke, and Eric S. Edgerton: “Source Identification of Atlanta Aerosol by Positive Matrix Factorization” (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2003, 53 (6); DOI 10.1080/10473289.2003.10466209).

2014 Yonghua Yang and Eric R. Allen*: “Biofiltration Control of Hydrogen Sulfide 1. Design and Operational Parameters” (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 1994, 44 (7) 863-868; DOI 10.1080/1073161X.1994.10467287),

2013 William P.L. Carter: “Development of Ozone Reactivity Scales for Volatile Organic Compounds” (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 1994, 44 (7): 881-899; DOI:10.1080/1073161X.1994.10467290).

* Deceased