2021 A&WMA Fellow Membership

The Fellow Grade of Membership was inaugurated in 1986 to recognize professional attainment and accomplishments related to the mission and objectives of A&WMA. A candidate for fellowship has a minimum of 15 years of experience in an area served by the Association and has been a member of the Association for at least 10 continuous years. Fellows are recognized for their professional accomplishments and service to the Association based on a process, product, or regulatory development; project leadership; managerial achievement; the education of specialists; peer-reviewed technical publications; patents; and research or theoretical developments.

A&WMA presents the Fellow Grade of Membership to the following individuals in 2021:

Sam Altshuler
Joshua Fu
Philip Hopke

Dr. Philip K. Hopke is the Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Clarkson University, former Director of the Center for Air Resources Engineering and Science (CARES), and former Director of the Institute for a Sustainable Environment (ISE). He also holds an adjunct professorship in the Department of Public Health Sciences at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry.

Dr. Hopke is a past Chair of EPA’s Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee (CASAC), and has served on the EPA Science Advisory Board (SAB). Professor Hopke is a Past President of the American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR), and was a member of the more than a dozen National Research Council committees. He is a member of the NRC’s Board of Environmental Studies and Toxicology. He is a fellow of the International Aerosol Research Assembly, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Association for Aerosol Research. He is an elected member of the International Statistics Institute and was the recipient of the Eastern Analytical Symposium Award in Chemometrics and the Chemometrics in Analytical Chemistry Conference Lifetime Achievement Award. He is also a recipient of the 2004 David Sinclair Award of the AAAR, the 2016 Constance L. Mehlman Award from the International Society for Exposure Science , co-recipient of the 2018 Fissan-Pui-TSI Award for International Collaboration presented by the International Aerosol Research Assembly and co-recipient of the 2015 Arthur C. Stern Distinguished Paper Award, Journal of the Air and Waste Management Association. He served as a Jefferson Science Fellow at the U.S. Department of State during the 2008-09 academic year.

Professor Hopke received his B.S. in Chemistry from Trinity College (Hartford) and his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in chemistry from Princeton University. After a post-doctoral appointment at M.I.T. and four years as an assistant professor at the State University College at Fredonia, NY, Dr. Hopke joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, rising to the rank of professor of environmental chemistry, and subsequently came to Clarkson in 1989 as the first Robert A. Plane Professor with a principal appointment in the Department of Chemistry. He moved his principal appointment to the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering in 2000. In 2002, he became the Clarkson Professor and Director of CARES. On July 1, 2010, he became Director of ISE that houses Clarkson’s undergraduate and graduate environmental science degree programs as well as managing its sustainability initiatives. In May 2016 he moved to emeritus status. In April 2016, he was appointed as an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Public Health Sciences of the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. He joined the Air Pollution Control Association in 1982.

His major recent activities with A&WMA have been in the organization of the past four and the upcoming Visibility Conferences. He has been an author of four papers in the Journal of the Air Pollution Control Association and 34 papers in the Journal of the Air and Waste Management Association.

Philip Hopke

A&WMA Fellow Membership