2023 Arthur C. Stern Award for Distinguished Paper

Established in 2013, the Arthur C. Stern Award for Distinguished Paper is given annually to an author or authors for an outstanding contribution to the Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association (JA&WMA) in the fields of air and waste management. The award is based on the publication of a paper in JA&WMA that has greatly advanced science and technology; is technical, scientific, or management in nature, while advancing the mission of JA&WMA; and is considered to be a substantial contribution toward improving our understanding of air pollution and waste management problems, their impact on environment and health, and the use of sustainable practices in reducing our environmental footprint. There is no publication date limitation for this award, any previously published JA&WMA paper is eligible, and it is open to both members and nonmembers of the Association. Critical Review papers and discussion papers published in JA&WMA are not eligible for this award.

Arthur C. Stern (1909–1992) was a long-time member and past president of the Air Pollution Control Association (APCA), a forerunner of A&WMA. He made major contributions to JA&WMA and his books on air pollution control are well-recognized nationally and internationally.

A&WMA presents the 2023 Arthur C. Stern Distinguished Paper Award to Christopher Emery, Zhen Liu, Armistead G. Russell, M. Talat Odman, Greg Yarwood, and Naresh Kumar for their paper, “Recommendations on statistics and benchmarks to assess photochemical model performance,” which was published in the May 2017 issue of JA&WMA.
Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association Cover

Arthur C. Stern Award for Distinguished Paper