Outstanding Young Professional Award

Nomination Form

The Outstanding Young Professional Award will recognize an individual or individuals who are pursuing excellence in their careers and have made a valuable contribution to A&WMA by serving in a leadership position. To be eligible, a candidate must be a young professional working in the environmental profession. A young professional is defined by the Association as being 35 years of age or younger.

Any Association member can submit nominations for this award. The nominee's contribution to A&WMA must be documented to include leadership at the local level and/or the international level. Evidence may be provided in the form of references containing personal testimonies or corroboration of committee, section, chapter, and/or council experiences; commendations from the Board of Directors and/or other professional associations or societies; commendations from governmental and/or private sector groups.

Selection will be based on how the individual provided leadership for the A&WMA at the local (Section, Chapter) level and/or the international (Association) level, and how the individual is actively pursuing excellence in his or her environmental career.

Past Recipients
             2023 Lindsay Rice Salvador

2022 Stephanie C. Bolyard

2021 Stephanie Taylor

2020 Shira Colsky
         Jason Krawczyk

2019 Ryan Ozment

2018 Paul Algu
         Jessica Miller

2017 Laura Cremer

2015 Cynthia A. Carter
          Jason S. Midgett

2014 Laurel Peterson

      2013 Jen Cowman
          Monica I. Sandoval

2012 Abhilash Vijayan

2011 Holly Krutka
          Benjamin Sessions
          Jennifer Tullier

2010 Steve Rybolt
          Brad Waldron

2009 Ferdinand Alido
          Fawn Bergen

2008 D. Laurie Bates-Frymel
          Nancy E Meilahn Fowler