Charles W. Gruber Association Leadership Award

Nomination Form

This award, established by resolution of the Board of Directors on May 2, 2003, is for an individual who has provided outstanding service to A&WMA by serving in leadership positions at both national/international and local levels and who has contributed to the achievement of the mission and objectives of the Association. To be eligible for the award, an individual must have been a member of the Association for at least 15 years and made a sincere, constant, and unselfish effort over that period of time, and in a manner best suited to his/her own resources, for the betterment of the Association. The nominator must also be a current A&WMA member.

Charles W. Gruber (1910-2001) was a pioneer in the field of air pollution control. His contributions to the field of air pollution control and the Association were numerous and significant. He joined the Association in 1938 and made important contributions during the transitional years from 1948 to 1952, when the Association was transformed from a relatively closed smoke-oriented organization to one that addressed in name, philosophy, and structure the broader dimensions of air pollution control. In 1950, he became the first president of the reorganized and renamed Association. During his term of office he conceived of the present technical committee structure and guided its development through the early years. He was a member of the Board of Directors from 1949 to 1952 and again from 1959 to 1962. His remained active with the Association after his tenure on the Board. In 1960, Mr. Gruber was General Conference Chair of the first annual meeting to be held in Cincinnati, chair of the By-Laws Committee in 1964, and chair of the membership committee from 1952 to 1955. He served as chair of the Air Pollution Measurement Committee, and later chaired the Control Technology Division of Technical Council from 1970 to 1973. He also served on the Council's Gas and Odors Committee. In 1964, he became the first air pollution control official to be given the Frank A. Chambers Award for outstanding achievement in the science and art of air pollution control. In 1980, on the 40th anniversary of his membership and active support, the Association awarded Mr. Gruber Honorary Membership "in view of his untiring and continuing contributions to the organization."

Any Association member can make nominations for this award.

Year Award Recipient
2023 C. Flint Webb *
2022 Harish G. Rao
2020 Sara Head
2019 Jack P. Broadbent
2018 Paula J. McLemore
2017 A. Gwen Eklund
2016 Tony van der Vooren
2015 C.V. Mathai
2014 Judith C. Chow
2013 Edith M. Ardiente
2012 Kenneth N. Weiss
2011 Robert E. Hall
2010 Anthony Buonicore
2009 George T. Wolff
2008 David W. Hoffman
2007 Harold M. 'Hal' Cota
2006 Gale F. Hoffnagle
2005 G. Steve Hart *
2004 Richard C. Scherr *

* Deceased