Arthur C. Stern Award for Distinguished Paper

Established in 2013, the Arthur C. Stern Award is given annually to an author (or authors) for an outstanding contribution to the Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association (JA&WMA) in the fields of air and waste management. The award is based on the publication of a paper in JA&WMA that has greatly advanced science and technology; is technical, scientific, or management in nature, while advancing the mission of JA&WMA; and is considered to be a substantial contribution toward improving our understanding of air pollution and waste management problems, their impact on environment and health, and the use of sustainable practices in reducing our environmental footprint. The award is open to both members and nonmembers of the Association. Critical Review papers and discussion papers published in JA&WMA are not eligible for this award. A small cash prize is included as part of the award.

Arthur C. Stern (1909–1992) was a long-time member and past president of the Air Pollution Control Association (APCA), a forerunner of A&WMA. He made major contributions to JA&WMA and his books on air pollution control are well-known nationally and internationally.

Nomination Procedure
The nominator should summarize the significant methods and findings of the paper, demonstrating the impact and importance of the paper in the air pollution or waste management fields, and submit the nomination package to the attention of the Committee Chair, Dr. Jeffrey L. Collett, Jr. (JA&WMA Editor-in-Chief), at Nomination deadline for the 2024 Award is December 31, 2023. The winner will be announced in early 2024. Self-nominations will not be considered

Committee Members
Jeffrey L. Collett, Jr. (Chair), JA&WMA Editor-in-Chief
David Chock, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute
Judith Chow, Desert Research Institute
Jenny Hand, Colorado State University 

George M. Hidy, Envair

2023: Christopher Emery, Zhen Liu, Armistead G. Russell, M. Talat Odman, Greg Yarwood & Naresh Kumar: "Recommendations on Statistics and Benchmarks to Assess Photochemical Model Performance" (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2017, DOI: 10.1080/10962247.2016.126502).

2022: Sherilyn A. Gross, Heather J. Avens, Amber M. Banducci, Jennifer Sahmel, Julie M. Panko, and Brooke E. Tvermoes: "Analysis of BTEX groundwater concentrations from surface spills associated with hydraulic fracturing operations" (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2013: DOI 10.1080/10962247.2012.759166).

2021: Neal Fann, Chris Nolte, Pat Dolwick, Tanya Spero, Amanda Curry Brown, Sharon Philips, and Susan Anenberg: "The Geographic Distribution and Economic Value of Climate Change-Related Ozone Health Impacts in the United States in 2030" (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2015: DOI 10.1080/10962247.2014.996270).

2020: Hui Zhou, Aihong Meng, Yanqiu Long, Qinghai Li, and Yanguo Zhang: "Classification and comparison of municipal solid waste based on thermochemical characteristics" (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2014: DOI 10.1080/10962247.2013.873094).

2019: Jun-Ji Cao, Zhen-Xing Shen, Judith C. Chow, John G. Watson, Shun-Cheng Lee, Xue-Xi Tie, Kin-Fai Ho, Ge-Hui Wang, and Yong-Ming Han: "Winter and Summer PM2.5 Chemical Compositions in Fourteen Chinese Cities" (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2012: DOI 10.1080/10962247.2012.701193).

2018: Gary A Bishop, Brent G. Schuchmann, Donald H. Stedman*, and Douglas R. Lawson: "Multispecies remote sensing measurements of vehicle emissions on Sherman Way in Van Nuys, California" (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2012: DOI 10.1080/10962247.2012.699015).

2017: Jennifer Wilcox, Erdem Sasmaz, and Abby Kirchofer, and Sang-Sup Lee: "Heterogeneous Mercury Reaction Chemistry on Activated Carbon" (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2011: DOI 10.3155/1047-3289.61.4.418).

2016: Judith C. Chow, John G. Watson, L.-W. Antony Chen, M.C. Oliver Chang, Norman F. Robinson, Dana Trimble, and Steven Kohl: “The IMPROVE_A Temperature Protocol for Thermal/Optical Carbon Analysis: Maintaining Consistency with a Long-Term Database" (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2007; DOI 0.3155/1047-3289.57.9.1014).

2015: Eugene Kim, Philip K. Hopke, and Eric S. Edgerton: “Source Identification of Atlanta Aerosol by Positive Matrix Factorization” (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 2003, 53 (6); DOI 10.1080/10473289.2003.10466209).

2014: Yonghua Yang and Eric R. Allen*: “Biofiltration Control of Hydrogen Sulfide 1. Design and Operational Parameters” (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 1994, 44 (7) 863-868; DOI 10.1080/1073161X.1994.10467287),

2013: William P.L. Carter: “Development of Ozone Reactivity Scales for Volatile Organic Compounds” (J. Air & Waste Manage. Assoc. 1994, 44 (7): 881-899; DOI:10.1080/1073161X.1994.10467290).

* Deceased