Richard I. Stessel Waste Management Award

Nomination Form
The Richard I. Stessel Waste Management Award, established by the Board of Directors on June 29, 1989 and named for Stessel in 2012, is for an individual or organization related to the field of waste management, and can be conferred for:

  • Outstanding achievements in the science and art of waste management. The accomplishment on the part of the recipient is technological in nature and widely recognized by persons in the field; OR
  • Outstanding achievement in the management, prevention and regulation of wastes. The recipient may be an employee in government, industry, education or research, whose accomplishments have led to minimizing the impact of waste in the environment; OR
  • Distinguished achievement as an educator in the field of waste management.
Richard I. Stessel (1956–2001) was a Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of South Florida and an avid A&WMA enthusiast. He influenced A&WMA’s Technical Council to include greener, energy-efficient, and integrated engineering solutions in solid and hazardous waste management, using materials science and engineering together with industrial ecology, environmental, and subsurface engineering, along with geological science in innovative solid and hazardous waste management.  The Richard I. Stessel Award may be awarded to members and nonmembers of the Association, or to an agency.
Year Award Recipient(s)
2022 Harold D. Register, Jr.
2021 Lee Lundberg; Timothy Townsend
2019 Stephen B. Smith
2018 Morton A. Barlaz
2017 ExxonMobil Baton Rouge
2015 R. Ryan Dupont; Samuel A. Vigil
2014 Michele Gehring
2013 Tonni Kurniawan
2012 Air Force Materiel Command (AFMC)
2011 Robert J. (Jerry) Murphy *
2010 City of Edmonton, Waste Management Branch
2009 Global Manufacturing Alliance LLC (GEMA)
2007 Anheuser-Busch - Baldwinsville,  NY
2006 3M Company
2005 John R. Quarles
2004 Target Corporation
2003 Anthony Licata
2002 Ralph H. Kummler *
1998 John Cherry
1997 Richard L. Sloan
1996 Carolyn Konheim
1995 R. Nichols Hazelwood *
1994 E. Timothy Oppelt
1992 Thomas R. Hauser
1991 Walter C. Barber

* Deceased