IT3/HWC Conference History

40th International Conference on Thermal Treatment Technologies & Hazardous Waste Combustors, September 13-14, 2023, Charlotte, NC

Celebrating 40 Years of the A&WMA International Conference on Thermal Treatment Technologies & Hazardous Waste Combustors

by William Norris, Past Conference Technical Chair

Over the course of the past 40 years, our conference has been a reliable source of technical, regulatory and policy information exchange amongst thermal treatment facilities, hazardous waste combustors, engineers, solution providers, government agencies, regulatory experts and academia. We have worked together through key regulatory changes along the way, some of which have reshaped the industry of thermal treatment. We have shared new technologies, research, methods, tools and experience in solving new and challenging problems. We have provided information and technical data from an international perspective, increasing our knowledge base and bringing additional technical expertise to the conversation. In working together, we have created a community of experts with direct experience in all aspects of thermal treatment. Best of all, at each conference we see both a host of familiar faces along with new participants, growing our community, adding new solutions and perspective to meet the challenges we face today and in the future.
IT3 2006 Attendees
IT3 2006 in Savannah, GA

IT3 2006 in Savannah, GA

Regulations have driven many of the changes we have seen over the years. EPA first proposed regulations for hazardous waste incinerators in 1978 under the Resource Conservation Recovery Act (RCRA). In 1980, EPA promulgated particulate matter (PM), hydrogen chloride (HCl) and destruction removal efficiency (DRE) standards for interim facilities. The predecessor to IT3 started at this time in 1980 to provide a technical and regulatory platform for affected industry.

IT3 2008 Attendees
IT3 2008 in Montreal, QC
IT3 2008 Attendees
IT3 2008 in Montreal, QC

EPA followed this in 1981 with standards for permitted incinerators and followed with the promulgation of standards for boilers and industrial furnaces (BIF’s) that burned hazardous waste, which were later promulgated in 1991. At the same time, EPA proposed additional standards for hazardous waste incinerators.

IT3 2013 Attendees
IT3 2013 in San Antonio, TX
IT3 2014 Attendees
IT3 2014 in Baltimore, MD

In 1993, EPA started the process of switching the regulation of air emissions from hazardous waste combustors (HWC) from RCRA to the Clean Air Act by releasing their draft Hazardous Waste Minimization and Combustion Strategy. The initial maximum achievable control technology (MACT) standards were finalized in 1999, overturned in 2001 with interim standards published in 2002. EPA published replacement standards in 2005. These were also challenged and in 2008, the Agency took a voluntary remand of all hazardous waste combustion regulations. 

IT3 2015 Attendees
IT3 2015 in Houston, TX
IT3 2019 Attendees
IT3 2019 in League City, TX

Today, we see new challenges ahead with pending regulatory actions on HW MACT II, PFAS and gasifier regulations, combined with strong drivers and incentives to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and minimize waste.

Building on our long history, this conference has stood the test of time, supported by organizations and individuals with a passion for our industry. With our collective continued support and participation, IT3/HWC will continue to evolve to meet industry challenges for the next 40 years and beyond.

IT3 2022 Attendees
IT3 2022 in West Palm Beach, FL
IT3 2022 Attendees
IT3 2022 in West Palm Beach, FL
Dates and Locations of the IT3/HWC Conference:

1980: Research Triangle Park, NC

1982: Irvine, CA

1984: Anaheim, CA

1985: Tucson, AZ

1986: Charlotte, NC

1987: Chicago, IL

1988: San Francisco, CA

1989: Knoxville, TN

1990: San Diego, CA

1991: Knoxville, TN

1992: Albuquerque, NM

1993: Knoxville, TN

1994: Houston, TX

1995: Seattle, WA

1996: Savannah, GA

1997: Oakland, CA

1998 Salt Lake City, UT

1999: Orlando, FL

2000: Portland, OR

2001: Philadelphia, PA

2002: New Orleans, LA

2003: Orlando, FL

2004: Phoenix, AZ

2005: Galveston, TX

2006: Savannah, GA

2007: Phoenix, AZ

2008: Montreal, QC, Canada

2009: Cincinnati, OH

2010: San Francisco, CA

2011: Jacksonville, FL

2012: New Orleans, LA

2013: San Antonio, TX

2014: Baltimore, MD

2015: Houston, TX

2016: Baton Rouge, LA

2018: Houston, TX

2019: League City, TX

2021: Virtual

2022: West Palm Beach, FL

2023: Charlotte, NC